Презентация "New words"


Подписи к слайдам:
Слайд 1

New words.

  • Convent – [‘ konv(e)nt] – монастырь (преимущественно женский)
  • Witness - [‘witnis] – свидетель (особ. в суде); очевидец; доказательство; свидетельство
  • Wall – [wo:l] – стена; стенка; обносить стеной
  • Likewise - [‘laikwaiz] – подобно, также
  • Adornment – [e’do:nment] – украшение
  • Military – [‘milit(e)ri] – военный, воинский; военная сила, военные, военщина
  • Guard – [ga:d] – охранять, сторожить, караулить; защищать; бдительность, оборонительное положение; гвардия

  • ПРЕЗЕНТАЦИЯ
  • ПО АНГЛИЙСКОМУ ЯЗЫКУ

  • НОВОДЕВИЧИЙ МОНАСТЫРЬ
  • NOVODEVICHY CONVENT

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12

Novodevichy Convent, lying by a river bend on the south-western edge of old Moscow, is one of the city's loveliest monasteries and major spiritual centres from centuries back. This are – ligious house, founded in 1525, has witnessed and taken part in many momentous events of Russian history. The churches, palaces and walls of Novodevichy, erected during, the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, are unique for their artistic excellence and architectural unity, and favourably copmpare with Moscow's other monasteries by their fine state of preservation. Today the convent is home to a branch of the State Historical Museum and boast a fascinating collection of paintings and applied art, kept within its walls for hundreds of years.

  • Novodevichy Convent, lying by a river bend on the south-western edge of old Moscow, is one of the city's loveliest monasteries and major spiritual centres from centuries back. This are – ligious house, founded in 1525, has witnessed and taken part in many momentous events of Russian history. The churches, palaces and walls of Novodevichy, erected during, the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, are unique for their artistic excellence and architectural unity, and favourably copmpare with Moscow's other monasteries by their fine state of preservation. Today the convent is home to a branch of the State Historical Museum and boast a fascinating collection of paintings and applied art, kept within its walls for hundreds of years.

  • A mid-seventeenth description of Novodevichy Convent was made by the Syrian Archdeacon Paul of Aleppo, who visited Russia in the 1650s in the suite of his father Makarious, Patriarch of Antioch. Paul mentions nuns «from around Smolensk and Mogilev» along it the fact that the customs of Novodevichy differed from those of the Muscovites. According to the Syrian traveller «this convent is much admired; hence all of its nuns come from the boyars, very wealthy maidens or widows. Since the nuns convent are very rich< the convent is likewise. As Patriarch Nikon said to our teacher today, « In the land of Moscovy there no monastery richer that this». The archdeacon comments on the opulence of decoration in the cathedral, teeming, with icons in precious frames: « Even in the Tsars churches we have not found such adornments as here».

  • Описание Новодевичьего монастыря середины 17 века оставил сирийский архидиакон Павел Аллепский, который в 1650-х годах побывал в России, сопровождая своего отца антиохийского патриарха Макария. Павел упоминает о монахинях « из-под Смоленска и из-под Могилева» и о том, что порядки в монастыре отличаются от московских обычаях. А по словам сирийского путешественника « этот монастырь пользуется большой любовью; поэтому все монахини в нем из боярынь, богатые девицы или вдовы».Так как монахини очень богаты, то и монастырь богат, как сказал нашему учителю в этот день патриарх Никон : «в Московской земле нет монастыря богаче этого». Архидиакон сообщает о пышности украшений монастырского собора, переполненного иконами в драгоценных окладах. « Даже в церквах мы не находим таких украшений. Как в этой церкви»,- свидетельствует Павел.

  • Novodevichy Convent reached the peak of prosperity in the last quarter of the seventeenth century, during the rule of Tsarevna Sophia (1682-1689). The tsarevna, who governed Russia in the name of her juvenile brothers, Tsar Ivan and Peter, lavished the convent with donations and adorned it with new buildings in stone. Under Sophia Novodevichy became , as it were, a court institution, which enjoyed special favour of the tsarevna and her sisters, and was decorated by the best master craftsmen of the time.

  • Наибольшего процветания Новодевичий монастырь достиг в последней четверти 17 века, во время правления царевны Софьи Алексеевны (1682-1689). Царевна, правившая государством от имени своих малолетних братьев , - царей Ивана и Петра, делала в монастырь огромные вклады и украсила его новыми каменными постройками. При Софье монастырь стал своего рода придворной обителью, которая пользовалась особым расположением царевны и ее сестер и украшалась лучшими мастерами того времени.

  • Under Tsar Peter the Great the convent fell from a long while, lost its position and had to pay state taxes. In 1724-1725 an orphanage for 252 children and military hospital were established here. Another member of the ruling family, Yevdokia Lopuhina (Sister Elena), the discarder first wife of Peter, lived at Novodevichy from 1727 to her death in 1731.

  • При Петре Первом монастырь попал в длительную опалу. Управление монастырскими делами перешло в ведение Преображенского полка. Правительство наложило на обитель государственные повинности. В 1724 – 1725 годах в Новодевичьем монастыре был выстроен « сиротский корпус «, рассчитанный на 253 ребенка, и устроена для солдат и офицеров.

  • Today Novodevichy Convent still preserves 8 stone structures leaning on its walls. Four of them are found near the round corner towers and were formerly used as guard houses manned by streltsy, or as parts of the arsenal. But the guardhouses also served for other purposes. The one next to the Pond Tower probably accommodated the cells where Tsarevna Sophia lived after taking the veil. In the eighteenth century it became the convent's archive, as proven by old documents found beneath the floor in the 1950s.

  • До наших дней в монастыре сохранилось 8 каменных зданий, встроенных в монастырскую ограду. Четыре из них расположены возле круглых круговых башен. В свое время это были караульни для размещения гарнизона стрельцов и арсенала.
  • Караульни меняли свое предназначение; в одной из них, расположенной при Напрудной башне, возможно были кельи, в которых жила постриженная в монахини царевна Софья. В 18 веке это помещение использовалось под архив, о чем свидетельствуют старинные документы, обнаруженные в 1950-е годы под полом караульни.

  • Авторы презентации:
  • Малафеевская Татьяна,
  • Ковина Дарья,
  • Серебрякова Анна.
  • Почти все используемые материалы взяты из
  • книги «Новодевичий монастырь»,
  • составитель – И. Г. Борисенко.
  • 2007 год.